Slot Limit on Bass?

Fishing Reports and Lake Conditions Only. Ask your questions and post remarks in the General Forum Please.

Moderators: Daves, admin, Phil, billbo

Line Wetter

Slot Limit on Bass?

Post by Line Wetter » Fri Jul 29, 2016 12:16 pm

Hi all. I'm a newly registered member on the forum, but have been looking in on it for several years now. I have been fishing Black Lake for over 20 years and one thing I have always enjoyed is the quality of bass (especially large mouth) in the lake. I fish many other bodies of water, and while my catch rates are often comparable, the sizes are no where close to Black Lake. I truly do believe that the 15'' minimum is doing the lake a lot of good.

Though I hear many people claim they do not keep any bass, it is obvious to me that many bass are taken from the lake each year. I base this on the fact that a majority of the bass I catch are between 14.5'' and 15'' -just under the legal limit. Now with that said, please don't think that I am complaining about only catching dozens of 15'' bass. We catch plenty of hogs as well, and even if we didn't, a fishing trip full of 15'' bass is reward enough.

I keep some fish every time I come up, that's another thing I like about Black Lake. The bass taste great! I have never had a bad fillet from a B.L.B (Black Lake Bass). What I don't like to see though, are the 20+ inchers at the cleaning stations. For one, they don't taste as good and are harder to fillet, and two, those are some great fish (and great breeders) that we all would love to catch over and over.