smallmoths

Fishing Reports and Lake Conditions Only. Ask your questions and post remarks in the General Forum Please.

Moderators: Daves, admin, Phil, billbo

LTC

smallmoths

Post by LTC » Fri Jul 15, 2011 7:34 pm

Okay if some of you dont mind, this is my first year on the lake and I have been reading about the smallmouth just have not caught any. Would someone be willing to tell me were to start or even go to catch these fighters.

Thanks
Carl

wildchild

Re: smallmoths

Post by wildchild » Fri Jul 15, 2011 9:51 pm

South end, rocky structure. Shoals or islands with a rocky shore. Senkos work well for me but others seem to do well with live bait, deep weed edges can be good as well. Pick up a Hotspots map and you will have a good idea of where to start.
NEVER GIVE UP-MIKE IACONELLI

GuidedBassTrips

Post by GuidedBassTrips » Sat Jul 16, 2011 10:28 am

The smallmouths in Black Lake have not been biting well lately for my customers as well. They've caught some small ones on senkos but I have not been able get them bigger ones on crayfish. The lake is very warm right now and they may still be recovering from a late spawn. Every year I question the smallmouth population in this lake. Then later in the summer they start biting and it appears there are plenty. The guys fishing here during the spring and fall will tell you how many there are. I just think July is a more difficult time to catch them consistently. Try topwaters and senkos in the morning and evening around the shoals. The smallmouth will tend to be scattered more now. Bottom fishing doesn't seem to be working yet.
Give a starving man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach him how to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.

racing11111

Post by racing11111 » Sun Jul 17, 2011 1:39 am